header images

Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam College of Physiotherapy

Physiotherapy Program

The Department of Physiotherapy was established in 1976 at Pravara Rural Hospital to cater to the preventive, curative, therapeutic and rehabilitation needs of the rural people. Need was felt to impart the much needed physiotherapy training programme and hence Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam College of Physiotherapy (Formerly Knows as "College of Physiotherapy") was establsihed in 1997 to achieve this obejctive. College of Physiotherapy was established in 1997 to achieve this objective.

The college was affiliated to University of Pune in 1997 and later to Maharashtra University of Health Sciences (MUHS), Nasik from 1998 to 2003. With the status of “Deemed University” awarded to Pravara Institute of Medical Sciences in 2004, the College became a constituent unit of PIMS-DU.

“Indian Association of Physiotherapists(IAP)”, “Rehabilitation Council of India(RCI)” and “Maharashtra State Council for Physiotherapy & Occupational Therapy” have recognized the College.

Practical training to students is imparted at state of the art Physiotherapy and Rehabilitation center where students get hands on training under the expert faculty of 800 bedded multi disciplinary tertiary care Pravara Rural Hospital. Students expand their horizons of therapeutic and rehabilitative concepts through involvement in community based rehabilitation programs and other "outreach" activities.

Students participate in various Physiotherapy camps, community activities and rehabilitation projects sponsored by Govt. of India and other International agencies. Students also immensely benefit from observational and educational visits organized to Schools for Disabled, NGO Projects and Rehabilitation Homes in the State.

The College offers Undergraduate programme in Physiotherapy (B.P.T.) since inception.

Postgraduate program in Physiotherapy leading to Masters in Physiotherapy (M.P.T.) commenced in academic year 2005. Masters programme is offered in following five specialties;
  1. Othopaedic Physiotherapy
  2. Neuro Physiotherapy
  3. Cardiorespiratory Physiotherapy
  4. Community Physiotherapy
  5. Pediatrics Physiotherapy

Doctor of philosophy (Ph.D) programme in Physiotherapy commenced from academic year 2010-11.

International Scholarship

Students of our College received International scholarships for higher studies at European universities. Pravara Institute of Medical sciences participate with Erasmus Mundus scholarship programme (EMECW-15). Under this programme, Students and faculty from both sides receive International scholarship which covers transportation, Hostel facility and tuition fees for higher studies in partner universities.

Following students of physiotherapy received international scholarships;
Name of student Druation UniversityCourse
Miss. Bhatnagar Megha 1 August 2009 to August 2011 Nowergian University,NorwaySports Science
Miss. Priyanka Pramod Diwadkar 1st Sept. to 26th Feb. 2010 Vilinus University, Lithuonia.Public Health
Miss.Prajakta Gawade 1st Sept. to 26th Feb. 2010 Vilinus University, Lithuonia.Public Health
Mr. Milind Masetrao Khobaragade 1st Sept. 2010 to 30th Jan. 2010 Lund university, Sweden..Public health